Making policies work


The ECDPM Board of Governors is composed of highly respected policymakers, practitioners and specialists from Africa, the Caribbean and Europe. The full Board convenes at least twice a year to review ECDPM’s substantial areas of work through the annual work plan and annual report.

From among its members, the Board chooses the Executive Committee, which meets at least three additional times each year. Among other things, it reviews the mid-year and annual balance sheets and income and expenditure statements.

Board members


Prof. Adebayo Olukoshi

Board Chair
Regional Director for Africa and West Asia Programme, International IDEA
Nationality: Nigerian


Mr. Koos Richelle

Vice Chairman of the Board, Chair of the Board Executive Committee
Former Director-General at the European Commission, respectively for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion; EuropeAid Co-operation; and DG Development
Nationality: Dutch

högupplöst Ruth Jacoby

Mrs. Ruth Jacoby

Member of the Board, member of the Board Executive Committee
Former Director General for International Development Cooperation at the Swedish Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Former Ambassador of Sweden to Italy and Germany, Former Member of the UN Millennium Project Task Force, Former Chair of the Board Committee on Development Effectiveness (CODE) of the World Bank
Nationality: Swedish

Mr. Richard Dohmen

Member of the Board, member of the Board Executive Committee
Partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers
Nationality: Dutch


Prof. Alan Hirsch

Member of the Board, member of the Board Executive Committee
Professor of Development Policy and Practice at the Nelson Mandela School of Public Governance at the University of Cape Town (and Director from 2011-2019)
Nationality: South African


Amb. Maria de Jesus Veiga Miranda

Member of the Board
Ambassador, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Cabo Verde
Nationality: Cape Verdean


Mr. Jean-Claude Boidin

Member of the Board
Former Head of Unit at DG International Cooperation and Development (European Commission), former EU Ambassador to Madagascar
Nationality: French

Board advisors

Mr. Dieter Frisch

Honorary Advisor to the ECDPM Board of Governors on European External Affairs
Former Director-General for Development at the European Commission
Nationality: German
Former Vice Chairman of the ECDPM Board, former Chairman of the Board Programme Committee