Making policies work



SADC Payment Integration System

PERISA Case Study 2 on Private Sector

August 2013

Wentworth, L. 2013. SADC payment integration system. (PERISA Case Study 2: Private Sector). Johannesburg, Maastricht: SAIIA, ECDPM.

Share Button

On 22 July 2013 the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Integrated Regional Electronic Settlement System (SIRESS) became operational in the four countries of the Common Monetary Area (CMA): South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho and Swaziland. This is a first step to implementing a common electronic cross-border payment system across all member states of the SADC regional economic community (REC).

Download (PDF, 167KB)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Cross-cutting TopicsTrade, investment and financePolitical Economy AnalysisRegional IntegrationResearch reportsResearchPolitical Economy of Regional Integration in Southern Africa (PERISA)Southern African Development Community (SADC)Southern Africa

External authors

Lesley Wentworth

South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA)