Board of Governors' Response to the External Evaluation of ECDPM 2016-2020

December 2020

During its meeting on the 19th of November 2020 the Board of Governors of ECDPM considered the final report of the team that conducted the External Evaluation of ECDPM's implementation of its Strategy 2017-2021. The evaluation covers the period 2016 (end of the previous strategy) to September 2020. The team consisted of:

- Ms Francesca Cook (team leader)
- Mr Amagoin Keita
- Dr George Mukundi Wachira
- Dr Peter Wolff

The Board concluded the evaluation process was conducted in a professional and independent manner in line with the Terms of Reference on which the Board had commissioned the evaluation.

The overall logic and robustness of the methodology was assessed and confirmed by an independent Reference Group that consisted of:

- Wendy Asbeek Brusse (Director, International Research and Policy Evaluation Department (IOB), Ministry of Foreign Affairs Netherlands)
- Riita Oksanen (Deputy Director General, former Adviser at the Development Evaluation Unit, MFA Finland)
- Jörg Faust (Director, German Institute for Development Evaluation DEval Germany).

The Board accepts the report and discharges and thanks the external evaluation team.

The Board notes with satisfaction the overall positive appreciation by the external evaluation team of the work of ECDPM and would like to congratulate the staff and management for their commitment, professionalism, creativity and rigour.

Given however the rapidly changing environment in which ECDPM operates and the expanding and evolving agenda, the Board would like to encourage the management and the staff to increase the agility and flexibility of the organisation and to continue striving for excellence. It would therefore urge the management to implement in the coming months and years the actions it committed to in the management's response.

The Board agrees to sharing and publishing the final report and the management's response.